It’s National No Bra Day Not National Ogle My Tits Day

Responding to a Facebook photo that kinda pissed me off.

Screenshot taken from my Facebook news feed

Screenshot taken from my Facebook news feed

So, a bit of background, October is national breast cancer awareness month and this National No Bra Day is being marketed as an awareness raising campaign. When I heard about it I wanted to have a bit of background information so googling it was my first instinct. I found it surprisingly difficult to find legitimate information about it and it seems it originated from ‘boobstagram’. Basically you post a tasteful picture of your boobs in the hope of raising awareness. October 13th is the day to set the girls free.

Although I think this ‘campaign’, I use that word very loosely, is a little flawed I can get behind the desire to raise awareness about this very important issue. What is pissing me off is the response that certain people, largely male, are having towards it.

Something I saw whilst scrolling through my Facebook news feed really got under my skin. See photo inset. I hate it when women are marginalised and seeing something that had been posted and shared by a man and the amount of derogatory comments concerning woman really saddened me. If women tried to take advantage of a charitable campaign concerning men it would be unthinkable but men can use this event to belittle woman. We don’t go braless for men, and we sure as hell don’t live our lives for men. This National No Bra day it’s about getting men to ogle our tits, it’s about getting woman to be more active in their own health, to self check and be aware of breast cancer so they can prevent rather than cure.

Allanah

X

Screenshot taken from my Facebook news feed

About Allanah Byrne

I'm a nineteen year old Australian, who wants to get their opinion out there. It'll be biased, it'll have mistakes but it's mine. And now others get to see it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

